

Academic Assembly Meeting No. 8 Monday January 112021 2:05–4:00pm, Zoom Meeting

MINUTES

Academic Assembly Members

Present:Angie Jenkins, Carol Adams, Chris Paul, Connie Anthony, Kathleen La Voy, Felipe Anaya, Frank Shih, Gregory Silverman, Holly Ferraro, John Trafton, Kate Koppelman, Katie Oliveras, Khalee Kiazolu, Kirsten Thompson, Margit McGuire, Mark Taylor, Mimi Cheng, Oleh Amah, Patrick Murphy, Richard McGaha, Rose Murphy, Russ Powell, Sarah Bee, Shane Martin, Terri Clark, Yancy Dominick

ExcusedRobin Narruhn

Seattle University Attendees

Presenters:Jen Marrone, Joyce Allen, Kevin Krycka, Robert Dullea

Guests:Agnieszka Miguel, Alexandra Adame, Barrios Sonia, David Green, Dominick CodyKramers, Dylan Helliwell, Hannah Tracy, Joanne Hughes, John Fleming, Katherine Raichle, Kathryn Bollich-Ziegler, Kelly McBroom, Marc McLeod, Maylon Hanold, Mehmet Vurkac, Michele DuBois, Niranjan Chipalkatti, Sven Arvidson, Teodora Shuman

I. Provost Update

2:05 – 2:25 pm

- a. Meeting was called to order at 2:05 pm by AcA President, Frank Shih.
- b. The Provost expressed his gratitude for the faculty's hard work through the FQ and wished everyone a Happy New Year. The Provost offered updates on discussions surrounding student evaluations, changes made to the startup process for WQ considering the worsening COVID-19 pandemic, recent national political events, and the effect the national political climate is having on higher education. The Provost offered an overview of a Seattle University collaboration with Swedish Medical Group to assist in running a COVID-19 vaccination clinic on campus. The Provost announced the re-appointment of Mr. Jeff Philpott as Director of the University CORE Department. The Provost also proposed a review of the university guidelines for appointing directors to university institute, centers and units.

II. AcA President Update

2:25-2:30 pm

- a. MOTIONMoved by Frank Shih: "Move to approve the agenda for the January 11, 2021 meeting of the Academic Assembly (AcA)." Seconded. Approved.
- b. MOTIONMoved by Frank Shih: "Move to approve the meeting minutes from November 16, 2020 meeting of the Academic Assembly." Seconded. Approved.

- c. The AcA President updated the AcA membership on the status of the Faculty Welfare Committee (FWC) and announced the roster of FWC members. The FWC roster is as follows:
 - i. Deidre Bowen (LAW)
 - ii. Meenakshi Rishi (ASB)

iii.